Ideology and personal change

There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio, Than are dreamt of in your philosophy.
manolo

Ideology and personal change

Post by manolo »

Folks,

I have been posting on internet debate forums for a few years now, and there is something that I have noticed. We may discuss a wide range of issues and factual situations, but it is very rare indeed for a poster's ideology to change over time, and this includes my own. The consistency of personal ideology, particularly when anchored in a religion or other universal belief system, is remarkable.

Having been a teacher, and attended universities as a student, I have seen cases of people changing their ideas, indicating that these ideas have not hardened into a world view (this I call an ideology) although a person may be more or less sympathetic to certain ideas which appeal to their emotions. I'm thinking that the hardening is some kind of emotional process.

It could be that posting on the internet, which is the act of publishing, attracts folks with already fixed views that they wish to share with like minds, or with anyone. For some this will be a kind of promulgation. However, publishing does not have to be like this. Jack Kerouac famously wrote, “All I have to offer the world is my own confusion.” which I think is a bravely put confession.

I would hope that my ideology could change somewhat in the face of reasoned argument or an inspiring person. There are some deep axioms, such as the value of kindness and generosity, which I think I would hold to, but there may be ways of developing such axioms that I haven't yet thought of.

How about you?

Alex.
noddy

Re: Ideology and personal change

Post by noddy »

being perfect i have not had any need to change and any attempt to do so would be a crime against nature.

im not sure peoples priorities change very much but as you get older and uglier you get better at living those priorities, so the approach can change.
ultracrepidarian