Wagner

A little song, a little dance, a little seltzer down your pants.
Apollonius

Wagner

Post by Apollonius »

How to hear the hate in Wagner's music - David P. Goldman, PJ Media, 12 January 2015
http://pjmedia.com/spengler/2015/01/12/ ... epage=true

A few years back Tinker mentioned Goldman's need to intellectualize everything. There's a currently running thread callled 'Catholic mass and agnosticism' where the general consensus seems to be that a person would be unwise to attempt to always try to analyse and explain to yourself, much less others, why you do or do not like something.

I'm no real musician, but I do appreciate good music. Though I don't listen to modern music all that much, I just felt like contradicting those who find Wagner boring or even hateful (which is quite simply absurd).

The trailer from a spectacular production stage in comemoration of the two-hundreth anniversary of the composer's birth and available as a four part DVD set:

Der Ring des Nibelungen (trailer) - Richard Wagner (1813-1883) ; various soloists ; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra directed by Robert Lapage
QKsroORVBBQ

Wagner's Ring presents the ultimate challenge for any opera company, and the New York Metropolitan Opera's new production of Der Ring des Nibelungen, unveiled between 2010 and 2012 and starring some of the greatest Wagnerian singers of today, is among the most ambitious Ring stagings ever mounted.

Already seen by over a million people in the theatre and at cinemas around the globe, the Met Ring was filmed live in high definition and is now being released on both DVD and Blu-ray to launch Deutsche Grammophon's celebration of the composer's bicentenary year in 2013.